Education is Life

For my quote, I chose to write about the first quote on the list by John Dewey “Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself”. This quote jumped right out at me as soon as I read it. We spend thirteen years of our lives going to school and doing everything we can to graduate and get that diploma, only to go back to school but at a much harder and much more intense level for usually 4+ more years. That is 17+ years of our lives spent studying and for what? Well, the sad truth behind it is that without these 17+ years of school, most of us would be working a minimum wage job (maybe even 2) just to make ends meet to raise a family. Without a grade 12 diploma and GED, some places such, as McDonalds won’t even hire you.

When thinking about how important education is in our lives, you also have to think about the amount of pressure that it puts on us educators. We are the ones that prepare these students for the rest of their lives. They rely on us to teach them the necessary skills and knowledge they need to get through the rest of their educations and carry them through life afterwards. As a student, this is probably an intimidating quote at first to think about. For myself, it was more of an eye opener. I have survived 13 years of school and almost 2 years of university. I am 2 years away from being done my schooling and moving on to get a career and eventually provide for my family. 2 years fly by and although I find it important to have fun in life, it is also very important to focus on these two short years and make sure I do everything I can to succeed the whole way through.

When thinking about this quote and the curriculum, it makes me question the content a little. I understand that many well-educated people and many teachers themselves construct the curriculum, but going through the elementary years, you don’t see very many life skill outcomes coming up. I am twenty-years old and have no idea to pay my taxes; I don’t know the first thing about buying a house or getting a mortgage and still don’t fully understand life insurance. Will I every use the Pythagorean¬†theory and have to quote Shakespeare? I will never know, but I do know that these are the issues I will face more than once in my life and mean much more then a math equation or Shakespearian quote.

Author: msschmidt4

2nd year education student Caffeine obsessed Living life to the fullest

Leave a Reply

