Guess Who!?

Digital identity is all around us these days. Some babies have their picture and identity on the internet hours after they are born and then usually at least one picture every month after that so that people don’t forget how cute they are or how much there parents love them. This is a scary thought, especially when you realize that they really don’t have any control of their digital identity until they are at least 10. This might not seem like a huge issue because who posts negative things about a 10 year old, but after reading “When Digital Identity Begins”, some of the things listed should scare a person a little. A note that the author Eric Stoller made was that “screenshots are snapped and Ip addresses show our locations”, this is a little more high tech for most but even for people who don’t really know how to adjust their Facebook settings properly, if your location services are on it tells everyone where you are when you posted that picture and some might not mind others knowing, but not knowing who’s on the other side of the screen should worry people, especially the ones posting photos of their children. I have a family friend that decided she needed to create a Facebook page for 2 week old daughter. I myself don’t have the baby on Facebook but I am able to search her, see her birthday and all her other personal information, and see all the photos that are posted on her account. Just from looking on her account I know where she lives, when she’s going shopping with her mom, what her house looks like and how much her looks change every week (I actually don’t really see any difference)! In my eyes, her mother has created her digital identity and filled it up with positive posts but it has actually probably become more of a danger for the baby.

The other Blog post I read was “When Students See Themselves as Digital” by Terry Heick and sadly this was a post that I found myself relating to. In his blog he mentions “If you tweet something, and no one RTs or favorites, did you really say anything at all?” This might not be me with Twitter, but Instagram is a whole new game! I am always trying to get more likes on my pictures. Heck, I even “like” peoples photos that I don’t actually like just so that when I decide to snap and post my next selfie, they’ll hopefully return the like and I will then get warm fuzzies on the inside! I view other peoples like as well, when I follow someone new or they follow me I usually look through their Instagram account and something that always catches my eye is how many likes they receive on their photos? I am not getting to actually know these people at all. Ideally I am just comparing my posed, edited, filtered photo to theirs and seeing who is “liked” more. This is creating a false digital identity for many students, especially females. If you’re taking 100+ perfectly lite and posed selfies, picking the one really good one, editing it, posting it and then deleting the rest are you really even posting a picture of yourself?

Author: msschmidt4

2nd year education student Caffeine obsessed Living life to the fullest

Leave a Reply

