Outcomes Ahead!

Before I share what I chose to talk about this week, I want to quickly reflect on something from the Justice Sinclair seminar and it has to do with the change he wants to see. Mr. Sinclair is very obviously truly passionate about the children on this earth and almost every statement that came out of his mouth was about wanting to benefit our children in some form. One point that really caught my attention was the unmarked graveyard outside of Regina that contains the burial plots of 36 children. This doesn’t really relate to education much but it does relate to residential schools and what went on inside those walls. I myself never knew about this graveyard until listening to this seminar and now that I know about it, it has really hit home for me. Those sweet innocent children who were tortured and beaten almost everyday until they physically couldn’t take anymore and now they are buried in a graveyard that the city won’t even mark. I’m not sure if the families of these children are still around but to me it’s a bit of a slap in the face.

On a bit of a happier side, I came across this pictures scrolling through my Facebook feed the other day and I actually just sat and stared at it for a good 5 minutes thinking about how it related so much back to educators and their lives. The picture is of a road and on the side of the road is a beach full of people enjoying themselves but the picture really just focuses on the road ahead and the unknown end. This relates to my ECMP 355 journey in a bit of a strange way. Educators have the tough job of having to reach a set of outcomes that are chosen for them and have to be met by the end of the year. This can easily result in them just doing what they need to do to get the job done. This is where we see the road in the picture, teachers are looking straight ahead hoping that they reach the end of the road soon and everything goes smoothly. ECMP 355 and all of the cool and different programs it has taught me is the beach! You can still get where you need to go, but you can also have fun while doing so!ECMP 355 Blog post 2.jpg

Author: msschmidt4

2nd year education student Caffeine obsessed Living life to the fullest

Leave a Reply

